We understand how difficult it is to share your story if you have been sexually molested or abused. Our partner attorneys have been handling sexual abuse cases throughout California for a combined total of 60 years. In that time, our clients have always been more successful in obtaining the full compensation that they need the sooner the issues associated with the abuse are addressed and the sooner they consult with us.
Suing for injuries and damages is most successful when evidence of the molestation is accessible. However, in some cases, evidence of abuse is still available years or even decades after the fact.
If you or a loved one has suffered sexual abuse, call Winer, Burritt and Scott, LLP, at (510) 433-1000 for a free consultation.
How Long Do You Have To Bring A Sexual Molestation Case In California?
- If the victim of abuse (the plaintiff) was under 18 years old when the abuse occurred, he or she has until at least his or her 26th birthday.
- A plaintiff may sue for damages many years after the abuse took place if he or she provides proof that the action against the defendant has been brought within three years of the date of the discovery of injury (psychological injury) from the sexual abuse.
- If the liable party for abuse is a California government entity (e.g., a school), a lawsuit may be required to be brought within six months or a year of the last incident of abuse.
There are many exceptions to statute of limitations that our experienced attorneys can advise you on.
Delayed discovery of a psychological injury is extraordinarily difficult to prove. The more time that passes, the more evidence may disappear. At Winer, Burritt and Scott, LLP, our attorneys work diligently to find evidence and identify key witnesses. Victims have difficulty reporting abuse, and we collaborate with expert witnesses who will testify that victims of abuse have suffered from psychological injuries that make even recognizing that the molestation was a wrongful act in the first place is difficult.
The Benefits Of Working With An Experienced Attorney
Bringing the person who abused you to justice and holding other liable parties accountable for negligence and wrongful acts is most successful when a lawsuit is pursued in a timely manner. You should never give up on a sexual molestation case because of the statute of limitations.
Adults may bring sexual abuse and molestation cases for wrongful conduct that occurred when they were children or while they are adults.
There are many exceptions to the statute of limitations for minors and adults. An attorney can help you make informed decisions about initiating a sexual molestation case and make the best case possible for you in front of a judge and jury.
At Winer, Burritt and Scott, LLP, our attorneys handle all legal aspects of your case, including filing the lawsuit, independent investigation, building a robust case, litigation, and all communications with the judge and the defendant’s counsel. We offer free initial consultations, and we handle all cases on a contingency fee basis.
Winer, Burritt and Scott, LLP | Child Sexual Abuse Lawyers
Contact us at (510) 433-1000 to discuss your case confidentially with a lawyer at our offices in Oakland, San Francisco or Los Angles. We can help you bring the perpetrator to justice and pursue the fullest possible recovery in your case.
**We do not represent perpetrators of sexual harassment or those who are accused of sexually harassing behavior.